cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working with DataRobot software!!

Working with DataRobot software!!

Hello, I am a student of Data Science and this week I was offered my first job in the area. The job is in a consulting company to work with a partner that has bought the software DataRobot and they need a team to operate it.

I never heard about this software before. Did some research and apparently this software do the job of a data scientist. So I am afraid that I will be a monkey pressing buttons and not really work applying my data science skills. What do you guys think? Am I wrong?

0 Kudos
4 Replies

Hi TecchUSA 

This is an extremely common question.

almost exactly the same asked on saturday https://community.datarobot.com/t5/research-center/is-data-robot-moving-a-data-scientists-cheese/m-p...

And last week https://community.datarobot.com/t5/automated-time-series/what-are-your-thoughts-on-datarobot-and-oth...

Check out the responses  - basically the fact its in the process of being automated just indicates its a growing area. There is some need for data science understanding even when using automated tools - history in other related areas indicates that demand will only grow.

So actually, now is a great time to get involved - enjoy your studies, and your first job! And feel free to use the community for any more queries you have around the software or the field in general. Or even if you just want to share something interesting

Take care!

Erica

Hey there tecchUSA,

First of all, congratulations on your first job offer! May you have a wonderful career.

To answer your question, I think that we should look at the history of ML and put things into perspective: