cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are your thoughts on DataRobot and other automated data

What are your thoughts on DataRobot and other automated data

I'm curious what this community thinks about it. My employer is about to sign a contract with them and my boss, who is very technical, has already stated that we planned to hire another data scientist until he heard about DataRobot—so that's at least one data scientist out of a job because of this platform. I'm not saying it's a bad thing; progress is good. But what do you think are the implications of these systems? Is this great for our field, as it picks off the low-hanging fruit, leaving us to work on more sophisticated problems?

Labels (1)
2 Replies
emily
DataRobot Alumni

Hi Techgenius, 

I work as a CFDS for DataRobot.  I was a data scientist for 5 years before coming to DataRobot.  I primarily created models in R. 

DataRobot's primary objective is not to put anyone out of work.  The goal is to make those doing the work able to do data science at the speed that is necessary for solving important problems.   A lot of data scientists can create a good model using traditional tools, but it can take a long time and is only a piece of the puzzle.  You also need to deploy, monitor and retrain when your data drifts. 

Buying DataRobot may be replacing one full time position now, but it will also allow your team to provide actionable models when they are needed at scale - enhancing your impact and growing your influence in the business - and hopefully your team once you've had a lot of success..