cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing scripts and macros/Collaboration

NiCd Battery

Continuing the concept of collaboration that was discussed in a previous article (Sharing data/Collaboration), this article will focus on sharing your programs that run a series of steps to manipulate the data.

Excel

In Excel, you have two ways to build a program that can run a series of steps; Macros and Visual Basic. Regardless of which you are using, they are both typically embedded in the spreadsheet so sharing it is just as easy as sharing the data; just email it. Unfortunately, it becomes very complex from this point forward. Since the intent of this article is collaboration, it is assumed that you are going to allow the other person (or multiple people) to edit your scripts. At this point you have now lost control of it. Each person can make as many changes as they choose and there is no requirement to inform you about the updates. You are probably hoping that the other people know how to program as well as you do or you will most likely become tech support for them.

Paxata

In Paxata, the collection of rules that you build are referred to as a project. A project is built with point and click, there is no programming language to learn. To share a project in Paxata is as simple as a click of the mouse. It is important to note that when you share in Paxata, you are not making another copy of the project. Instead, all the users that you give the rights to work on your project will use the same copy. This will eliminate a lot of problems because everyone will work from the same, consistent view.

To share a project

Hover over the the project that you want to share, then click on the gear icon to edit the details

Image: https://us.v-cdn.net/6030933/uploads/editor/ia/m605hj6qpxbw.png


On the left side of the screen, select the "permissions" menu

Image: https://us.v-cdn.net/6030933/uploads/editor/4e/uh2x84tsi6ss.png


Select the "USERS" menu (or GROUPS if appropriate)

Image: https://us.v-cdn.net/6030933/uploads/editor/io/7j3qhntnnbow.png


Select the user by opening the drop down then either scroll to the user or type in to search




Select the permissions that are appropriate, then click save (or repeat for other users)




In this example, I have now logged in as user2 and the following image shows the projects that I can see. Take note that the project was created by a different user. You can also see that the delete button has been deactivated since the initial user didn't give user2 the right to delete the dataset.

Image: https://us.v-cdn.net/6030933/uploads/editor/79/emuzp8ycp058.png


When I switch back to the original user and go into the project, I can see that user2 made a change to my project by clicking on the "Versions" tool to see all the changes that were made in the project including who made the change and when they made it.

Image: https://us.v-cdn.net/6030933/uploads/editor/6s/3fftzobzdj5e.png

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
0 Replies