cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steps Editor

Steps Editor

The Steps Editor allows you to view, edit, add, rearrange, and delete steps within a project. The Steps in the Steps Editor are displayed sequentially, with the first step at the bottom and the most recent step at the top.


VIEW – Clicking a Step in the Steps Editor will display the data as it appeared at that particular Step. Clicking the EYE button next to a step will mute (hide) the step from the project (this removes the step from the overall process without actually deleting it; to add the step back into the project simply click the EYE button again).


EDIT – The Steps Editor allows you to edit Steps already committed to the project at any time. When a Step is clicked in the Steps Editor, the data will adjust and display to show how the data appeared at that particular step in the process. By clicking the EDIT button in the upper-right of the Steps Editor, you can edit the currently selected step (be sure to hit the SAVE button in the upper-right of the Steps Editor following any edits, otherwise your changes will not be kept). This is very useful in combination with the Lookup function, as editing the lookup step will allow you to make transformations to the lookup table prior to the conducting of the join. When in edit mode, the Steps Editor will also display the number of filters active for each individual step of the project.

ADD – Anytime an action is saved within Paxata, it is added to the Steps at the top of the Steps Editor in reverse chronological order (most recent actions are at the top). It is also possible to add a new step at any historical point in the project as well. By clicking a step, Paxata will display the data as it appeared at the completion of that particular step. If you take a new action on the data while this historical view is shown, that new action (Step) will be added into the Steps Editor directly following the step you selected.

REARRANGE – Rearranging steps is as simple as clicking, dragging, and dropping steps within the Steps Editor. As you rearrange steps, the data will automatically refresh to reflect the new changes the rearrangement causes. If the rearrangement of Steps causes errors with any of the Steps, an alert will display on the Steps button as well as on any individual Steps that have errors.

DELETE – When viewing the Steps in the Steps Editor, you will see the EYE button which mutes (hides) Steps within the project, without completely deleting the step. If you click the Edit button in the upper-right corner of the Steps Editor, you will notice that the EYE button disappears, and that when you hover your cursor over an individual step an X button displays where the EYE button was previously displayed. Clicking this button will delete the Step permanently from the project.

REPLAYABILITY – The Steps Editor is very powerful in that it allows you to automate projects. Once you have built your project with all the Steps necessary to produce your Answer Set, simply editing the first Step of the project and replacing the Base Data Set with a new Base Data Set will cause all the Steps in the project to run automatically on the new Base Data Set.


RAW - Typically for more advanced users. Copying and pasting of the raw code allows the steps to easily be brought into a new project without manual recreation.


Click the RAW button in the Steps editor (located in the bottom right corner of panel) to open the raw code in Steps panel. 



0 Kudos
0 Replies