cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Series - COVID impacted data

Time Series - COVID impacted data

Hi

I'm new to the platform so apologies if my syntax is incorrect - here to learn

I've been trying to make forecasts with some monthly data that seems to be heavily impacted by COVID. The models DataRobot are giving me seems to perform worse than a traditional TS approach (I used Excel for this) and I just wanted to know if there is a way DataRobot can provide traditional TS models only (I tried the "manual" model selection but I could not find any models other than the baseline model that resembles a traditional TS model.

I have tried tweaking the best performing models ranked according to the error metric too but I think there is insufficient data post COVID to make any reliable predictions - I stand to be corrected though.

Any help on this issue would be really appreciated 🙂

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Matt!

Thanks for that really really informative reply, I have a way better understanding of the models DataRobot implements on the data - I will look into the model selection process further and play around with it to gain an even better understanding too.

Regarding the adjustments that can be made to help improve the chosen model, everything you mentioned in the last paragraph I initially took into consideration (varying FDW, including a calendar, making some features KIA, varying forecast period). However, I overlooked  splitting up the project into two, which in hindsight I should've done as well, as they do have variable behaviour - so thank you for highlighting that point. Hopefully that does the trick in terms of improving the overall accuracy of the model.

Again, thanks so much for this great reply!

View solution in original post

5 Replies
matt
Data Scientist
Data Scientist

Hi Shai!