Well today was a depressing day for data science at work

Highlighted
Blue LED

I work as an Analytics Manager and normally I don't really share with my colleagues the in depth details of my work because nobody is technical. They just know I use SQL and Python to spit out a report and that's all they really understand.

Recently I had an opportunity to do something interesting where I had a very skewed data set and was asked to make sense of it. I thought applying a log transformation to normalize the data as the distribution was extremely skewed and thought it would make the data easier to interpret and I was happy with the results.

My colleagues wanted to know how I arrived at my conclusion for my recommendation so I walked them through the process. I provided a high level overview, but they really wanted to get into the nitty gritty of exactly HOW I got to where I got. Again, I normally don't like to do this because they tend ask very detailed questions like "Can you explain exactly how this works so I can understand?" and it gets tough to explain certain things (e.g., I would say something like "I got this raw data from the API" but then it's followed up by a question like "What is an API and why didn't you just use the vendor's dashboard? Why doesn't the vendor's interface provide the data? Why do you have to go through this step?").

Well anyway I was explaining my logic and really tip toed around the stats by really trying to say essentially that I applied some logic that would more even distribute the data. I stupidly said the word "log" and it was over. Their faces froze for a good 10 seconds before someone spoke.

"I'm sorry..but what? What is log? Why do you need this log? I'm really confused. How am I suppose to explain this to the SVP? Can you just change it so you're indexing off the median or mean? This doesn't make any sense."

I'm dead.